Knowledgebase: Hosted Exchange Service
Adding a new user
Posted by Jay Sudowski (Import) on 18 September 2006 06:17 AM

From menu options select User Management »»New User, or from Users page click on New User link (refer to User Management article), and the blank User Details form will be displayed. All the fields marked with a red * are mandatory and must be filled in before you will be able to go to the next tab.

UPN - It is generally recommended that you make the UPN for a user the same as the user’s Primary Email Address (this is the main email address that the user has at your company) so that the user can easily remember it for logging on.
When you enter the UPN for a new user you should note that the UPN will automatically be used as the default value for the user’s Primary Email Address. Both the UPN and the Primary Email Address can be altered later.

USER ID - User ID is an alterative user name that can also be used to logon for the users so it must be unique.
The User ID is in the format <name>_<Code>. The <Name> part is usually the user’s name or a shortened version and the <Code> is a short code for your customer. The _<Code> part is automatically added as shown in the screen shot above.

The total length of the User ID cannot be longer than 20 characters (in total including the _<code> part) so you will sometimes have to shorten your user name.

When you enter the UPN for a new user the User ID field is automatically filled in. Unless there is a clash with another user or the user’s User ID has to be something specific for a particular application then you will not need to change this. The User ID cannot be modified once the user is added.

User names - The First Names and Surname fields are self-explanatory.

External Email - This field is for storing emails that are not managed by the system. Usually your user’s emails will be and you will not need to enter anything in here.

Optional Fields - The Phone number is self-explanatory. Some companies will want to categorise their staff using different options than just the Location and Department options. For this reason there are two additional fields called Custom Field1 and Custom Field2 available.

To move to the next page, you can either click the Next button at the bottom right hand side of the screen or select the Account Details tab.

Set password to never expire - You may not see this option if your company has chosen not to allow this. If you do see this option then the default value of this property is “Yes” however you get the opportunity to overwrite it. Once a user’s password has been set to never expire and saved, the value of “Password expires” property will be set to “Never” instead of an actual date.

Change Password at Logon - Often when you set up a new user you will use a standard password (or some pattern such as the user’s name). As a security feature it is recommended that you set Change Password at Logon to yes for the new user. This means that when the new user first logs on to Cortex they will automatically be diverted to the Change Password page where they can enter a more secure password that they know. There is a flag that the Service Provider can set which will make Change Password at next logon the default for all new users. Even if this is set you can override this if you need to for a particular user.

Account Disabled - This setting will disable the user’s account in the Active Directory of the Service Provider, and the user will not be able to access any services that rely on the Active Directory user.

User Administrator - The choice of “No”, “Partial” or “Full” values for User Administrator and Service Administrator settings determine the role, access level and available menu options of the user. For User Administration a Full Administrator has the right to create, edit and delete users. Partial Administrators have limited rights to manage user’s passwords.

Service Administrator - This controls the user’s right to configure how the various services work for your company – generally this is something that you would give to a select few users in your company.

Account Locked - For a new user this will always be No and not able to be changed. This property is only used for existing users whose account has been locked because they have entered the wrong password too many times. Then the Account Locked radio button will show Yes and you will have the ability to unlock the user’s account by setting it to No.

Password and Confirm password - To confirm that you remember the password you will need to enter the same value into these two fields. In most cases the Service Provider will set minimum standards for the password that can be used.

To move to the next page, you can either click the Next button at the bottom right hand side of the screen or select the Email Addresses tab.

When you go to this tab for a new user then the only email address that will show is the users UPN which is set as the default Primary Email Address. Often you will not have to do anything in this screen for a new user.

To move to the next page, you can either click the Next button at the bottom right hand side of the screen or select the Save tab.

The Save tab displays all details entered or changed so that you can confirm you have everything right. Nothing will actually be saved until the Save button is clicked. If you want to correct something you can simply:

  • Select the appropriate Tab to go back to the page that you need to go to.
  • Make the change that you need to.
  • Select the Save Tab again and confirm your changes.

If you are happy that you have entered everything correctly select the Save button. The new user will be provisioned after been successfully saved.
The Save Tab will then change to show you the following page.


(809 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)
Post a new comment
 
 
Full Name:
Email:
Comments:
CAPTCHA Verification 
 
Please enter the text you see in the image into the textbox below (we use this to prevent automated submissions).