Knowledgebase: Hosted Exchange Service
Bulk User Import
Posted by Jay Sudowski (Import) on 25 October 2006 08:50 AM

This page is used to import users or make bulk modifications to existing users. The steps involved in using the page are to:

  1. Download a template excel spreadsheet where you can enter the details you want to upload.
  2. Add the information to the spreadsheet using the template provided.
  3. Upload the spreadsheet onto the Service Provider’s server.
  4. Importing the updated user information from the spreadsheet.
  5. The changes will be validated and stored in cache.
  6. Confirm the users to be added or the changes to be made.

Download the Excel Template

There is one Microsoft Excel spreadsheet that is used as a template. Choose:

  1. for a blank template that you can use to add new users, or
  2. for a worksheet containing information on all existing users.

To download the excel spreadsheets successfully you must have Microsoft Excel installed on your computer.
You can also use the features of this page to effectively create your own template of partially completed information as discussed below under Uploading the user data.

Adding or editing information on the spreadsheet

To add new users simply add new lines to the spreadsheet with the necessary details filled in. Most columns are self-explanatory.
When there are different options or explanations then a comment has been placed on the column header. You can tell that the column has a comment when appears in the top left corner of the column heading. To see the comment you hover your mouse over the top cell. An example of this can be seen for the password column in the diagram above.
To update existing users simply change the appropriate columns for those users. If there are users that you do not want to update they can be deleted from the spreadsheet before you upload it.
Once you have finished adding new users and or changing the appropriate columns for users that you want to update then you should save the spreadsheet somewhere where you can upload it from. You will need to close the spreadsheet before you upload or there may be a permissions error when you try to upload the spreadsheet.

Uploading the user data

To upload the user data simply browse to the location where you saved the file and select the upload button:


When you have uploaded the file, it will be transferred to the Service Provider’s server. The file will then appear in a list of files from which you will then be able to add the new users or change the user information.

Once you have uploaded your first excel spreadsheet the files that you have uploaded to date will appear on the Bulk User Import screen:

There are three options next to each file you have in your list:

  1. Import Users, which will validate and save the user changes and display them for your confirmation, or
  2. Download File, which will enable you to download the file you have just uploaded. Using this option means that a file can be created which you can use as your own customised template, or
  3. Delete File, which will delete the uploaded file from a list once you have processed it.

Importing the user information

When you select the Import Users link, Cortex will validate the user’s information and display the changes to be made. If there are any errors in the user data these will display as in the example below:

Hovering over the error symbols will give information on any errors. If there are both new users and existing users that you are updating then you will see the two tabs:

  1. New Users, and
  2. Update Users.

It is recommended that you have a quick check to insure that you are seeing the users that you are expecting and that there are no errors. Once you are satisfied you select the Save button. If there are errors or the information is not what you expect then Cancel the import.

Once you are happy that the users are correct then select the Save button:

In this case, I am saving a new user. You will see the process moving through each user in the list in turn and once it has finished then there should be no users in the list as below:

If applicable you can then go to the Update Users tab to process any user changes that you are making.

(527 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)
Post a new comment
 
 
Full Name:
Email:
Comments:
CAPTCHA Verification 
 
Please enter the text you see in the image into the textbox below (we use this to prevent automated submissions).